What Is Reiki And The Chakras?

Rei-ki, means Universal Life Force Energy and goes back centuries, it is an old healing practice using hands on (or hands off) as a natural method of passing energy (ULFE).  It is now becoming increasingly popular today.  While Reiki is spiritual in nature, it is not a religion and there is nothing you must believe, in order to receive the benefits.

A treatment feels like a wonderful glowing  radiance that flows through and around you.  Reiki treats the whole body (person) including your emotions, the mind and spirit creating many beneficial effects that include relaxation and the feelings of peace, security and wellbeing.  Reiki is a simple natural and safe method of natural spiritual healing and self-improvement that everyone can use with beneficial effect.

The Reiki therapist channels Reiki (ULFE) and this directs itself to where healing is most needed.  You might feel some warmth in an area or cold even tingling and more.  You might see an array of colours and even visualise whilst going deeper into relaxation. So, empty your mind from thoughts, relax and whilst experiencing a Reiki session, ask for good health, healing, love, joy and peace.

You might feel thirsty after a session. It can help to drink plenty of water and avoid strong caffeine based drinks, such as coffee. You might feel deeply relaxed, and resting at home afterwards can help you get the full benefit of the treatment. Some might feel emotional and this will be a release of negative energy. Some might feel lighter in soul and mind and or energise. Each one of us will have different experiences depending on our mental and physical health.

Research / Reading

(PDF) The Energetic Heart: Biolectromagnetic Interactions Within and Between People


How it works and what you do?

You do not get undressed for Reiki however, you do take your shoes and coat off and remove anything that would cause you discomfort when laying down, such as your belt.  You can have treatment sitting if you are unable to lay down.  The lights will be dimmed and there will be background music.  I will put my hands on and above your body, usually beginning at your head and gently moving my hands across your body down to your feet.  Each hand position can be held for any length of time.  I might even focus on particular areas of the body.  You cannot direct Reiki as Reiki travels to where it is needed most.  


A Reiki session lasts approximately 1 hour and treats the whole person rather than specific symptoms.  It can be given anytime, anywhere as no special equipment needed.

The aim is to move and balance the 'energy' within and around your body and to get rid of any energy blocks to encourage healing and strengthen your energy.  You might feel a tingling sensation, a deep relaxation, or warmth or coolness in a particular area or throughout your body.  You could see numerous colours, images / shapes or even if you dozed off, you might have a visualisation / dream.  Or, you might not see or feel anything at all; this does not mean the treatment is not working as everyone's experience is different. 


As with other therapies, we suggest having 3 treatments in a row, say weekly to get best results then just have maintenance - whenever you would like; once a month or so. 

Reiki may help many aliments including:

  • Reiki enhances the body's natural ability to heal itself.

  • Releases blocked energy, promotes relaxation and reduces stress.

  • Helps to cleanse the body of toxins both energetic and physical.

  • Increases vitality, stamina and strengthens the immune system.

  • Balances organs and glands of the body and brings about a feeling of well-being.

  • Reiki energy goes wherever it is needed in the body and can do no harm and cannot be used for any harmful purpose.

  • Reiki heals holistically (physical, emotional, mental and spiritual)


The word chakra is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning wheel or vortex, and it refers to each of the seven energy centres of which our consciousness, our energy system, is composed.  These chakras, or energy centres, function as pumps or valves, regulating the flow of energy through our energy system.  The seven chakras are:

Root (or base) Chakra - Mooladhara

Located at the base of the spine and governs basic instincts, survival and feelings of security.  It is associated with  the colour red and the element of earth and it is visualised as four petals of a lotus. 

Sacral Chakra - Svadhisthana

Located in the groin or pelvis and is related to sexual energy, emotions and creativity.  It is associated with the colour of orange and the element of water.  This sacral chakra is represented by a six petal lotus.

Solar Plexus  Chakra- Manipura

Located where the abdomen and the thorax meet and governs digestion, mental function and power.  It is associated with the colour yellow and the element of fire.  This sacral chakra is represented by a ten petal lotus.

Heart Chakra - Anahata

This chakra governs love and compassion and includes the entire chest area, including the lungs.  It is associated with the colour green and the element of air.  It is symbolised by a 16 petal lotus.

Throat Chakra - Vishuddhi

Located in the throat and related to communication, self expression and growth.  It is associated with the colour blue and the element of sound or life.  It is symbolised by a lotus with 16 petals

Third Eye Chakra (or Brow) - Ajna

Located on the forehead, between the eyes (and known as the third eye) and governs intuition and perception.  It is associated with the colour indigo and is related to the element of light or time.  If is symbolised by a two petal lotus.

Crown Chakra- Sahasrara

The crown chakra is said to represent the pinnacle of spiritual awareness, or the connection to the divine.  It is symbolised as a violet or white lotus with a thousand petals and its association with the element of space or thought.

Are there any side effects?